New UN Security Council Members Elected

IMG_0048.JPGNew non-permanent members of the UN Security Council were elected. The five countries will serve a two-year term that expires in 2016. Venezuela, Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, and Spain were elected. New Zealand and Spain were both elected to represent the West and their election was contentious. The other three were voted to represent their respective geographic areas unopposed. Turkey had run against New Zealand and Spain for one of the two Western seats. However, Turkey has faced international criticism for their inaction in taking on ISIS. New Zealand won the first round of voting and Spain was not elected until the third round of run-offs.

In 2006, Venezuela had run for a Council seat, but the United States opposed their candidacy. However, the United States remained quiet this year and did not actively oppose Venezuela this year.

About Tyler

Tyler is the chief media reporter for TKNN, with the news organization since its founding in November of 2010. He has previously served as chief political reporter and chief political anchor for TKNN.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *