House Republican Steering Committee Proposes Chairmen

IMG_0001.JPGThe House Republican Committee has announced its recommendations for chairmen of the House committees in the next Congress. Some of the chairmen had to fight for their spot. Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) went against three other Congressmen to become the Chair of the House Oversight Committee. Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA) was term-limited, this is because the House Republicans have created a two-term limit for committee chairs. Rep. Paul Ryan, who was term-limited as Budget Chair, moved over to the Ways and Means committee which he will chair.

However, the House Republicans adopted a new rule that prohibits committee chairs and Appopriations sub-committee chairs from running for another office while serving as chair. The rule has been deemed the “Paul Ryan Rule,” although rule sponsor Rep. Tim Cole (R-OK) said that Ryan was not the chair he had in mind. The Hill reported that the rule stemmed from anger at Rep. Jack Kingston, who ran for the Senate seat in Georgia while chairing an Appropriations sub-committee. The rule does have exemptions, though. A chair could make his or her case before the Republican Steering Committee and be allowed to stay on as chair.

The proposals from the Steering Committee will go before a full conference vote, but it is largely symbolic.

Chairs named yesterday:

Agriculture – Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)
Appropriations – Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY)
Armed Services – Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX)
Budget – Rep. Tom Price (R-GA)
Education & the Workforce – Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
Energy & Commerce – Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
Financial Services – Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
Foreign Affairs – Rep. Ed Royce (R-CA)
Homeland Security – Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)
Judiciary – Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
Natural Resources – Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Oversight & Government Reform – Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT)
Science, Space, and Technology – Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Small Business – Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)
Transportation & Infrastructure – Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
Veterans’ Affairs – Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Ways & Means – Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI)

Speaker Boehner had previously made these recommendations:

Administration – Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI)
Ethics – Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Intelligence – Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA)
Rules – Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)

About Tyler

Tyler is the chief media reporter for TKNN, with the news organization since its founding in November of 2010. He has previously served as chief political reporter and chief political anchor for TKNN.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *