Theresa May to be Next Prime Minister

brexitIn the course of several weeks, Prime Minister David Cameron announced his resignation, setting up a leadership competition for the ruling Conservative Party. The field was narrowed down to two candidates, Theresa May and Andrea Leadson, and Leadson stepped out of consideration on Monday. This decision then left May as the only contender and Prime Minister Cameron announced that he will officially step down on Wednesday so that May may assume the position.

Leadson conceded the election on Monday after reaching the decision that she would not have enough support in Parliament should she have won the election. “Nevertheless, this is less than 25% of the parliamentary party and after careful consideration I do no believe this is sufficient support to lead a strong and stable government should I win the leadership election,” she read from a statement. May, in contrast, had support from 60% of the Conservative MPs.

Leadson said that May would be “ideally placed to implement Brexit on the best possible terms for the British people and she has promised she will do so.” Leadson supported the Leave campaign, but May supported Remain. May said of the result, “Brexit means Brexit and we’re going to make a success of it.”

The Conservative Party’s 1922 committee has to confirm May as the winner. Cameron will do his weekly Prime Minister Questions and then go to Buckingham Palace to meet with the queen and officially resign as Prime Minister and recommend May as his successor. May then has to go to Buckingham Palace and receive her invitation from the Queen to form a government.

Boris Johnson, who was an early favorite before dropping out of the race, said of May’s willingness to follow the Brexit vote, “It is vital that we respect the will of the people and get on with exploiting new opportunities for this country.”

About Tyler

Tyler is the chief media reporter for TKNN, with the news organization since its founding in November of 2010. He has previously served as chief political reporter and chief political anchor for TKNN.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *