Time Unveils 100 Most Influential List

Time Magazine announced its list of the 100 Most Influential People. The 100 people include all the current major presidential candidates with the exception of Governor John Kasich (R-OH). President Barack Obama, Speaker Paul Ryan, and Secretary of State John Kerry were also listed.

Republican National Committee Chair Reince Priebus was included on the list and the essay about him was written by the Speaker.

NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt was the only television journalist included with his essay from astronaut Scott Kelly. When reached for comment, an NBC spokesman redirected TKNN to Holt’s tweet about the honor.

Often sometimes as those nominated are the people writing the essays. There are sometimes personal connections between the recipient and the writer. Speaker Ryan’s was written by former presidential candidate and Governor Mitt Romney. Romney picked Ryan as his running mate during the 2012 election. Secretary Kerry’s was written by singer Bono while Governor Scott Walker wrote the essay about Senator Ted Cruz, whom he has endorsed. Clinton’s was written by Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) who some see as a potential veep pick. Sanders’s was written by former Secretary of Labor Robert Reich who has come out in support of his candidacy. MSNBC host Rachel Maddow penned an essay for Marc Edwards and Mona Hanna-Attisha, who helped to uncover the Flint water crisis. Former President Bill Clinton wrote about Raj Panjabi, whose organization helped to train medical workers dealing with ebola. Vice President Joe Biden wrote the essay for Pope Francis.

Some recipients also penned essays for other winners. President Obama wrote about Aung San Suu Kyi, a democracy activist in Myanmar who recently led her political party to victory in parliamentary elections. Ryan also received the honor while writing an essay. Author Ta-Nehisi Coates was written about by Bryan Stevenson while Coates wrote about filmmaker Ryan Coogler.

About Tyler

Tyler is the chief media reporter for TKNN, with the news organization since its founding in November of 2010. He has previously served as chief political reporter and chief political anchor for TKNN.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *